NaPoWriMo: The First Day!

See Me Silent, Voiceless

See me, voice dying

in tear, a woven never-bell marred

by wind,

bitter wind, rent

me heart-out, render

me right-side out

right-out

right-out

preposterous,

ripped,

ruined,

where am I now? Where

do I stand?

On what shifting seas,

which stay-less waters,

starless skies?

Where am I now? Where

was I when

my words died,

shriveled whisper like the husk of winter

rasping through the broken leaves

and gray trees’ bones

bare and cold in snow.

What was when my voice

faded on the wind,

rich trumpet of a dying unicorn

speared through the heart

by an unholy spear, forged

with suffering, cooled

in the blood

of tortured.

What am I now? No more

than ash,

hissing in the wind, voice

never to be heard,

what no one will ever hear

because they’re too busy listening

to the words of my funeral;

they never knew

where I’d gone.

I am gone,

vanished,

wind gnawing fierce at my skin

till it tore it all away,

Happy first day of National Poetry Writing Month (Oh, and April Fool’s Day)! Yes, I’m much later than I should be, and this isn’t a very good example of the month to come, but I was very, very busy! Neither was this poem written during the actual month of April! I’m really slacking off here, aren’t I? Oh well, let’s get right to the juicy poetry bit. You seasoned NaPoets out there know the drill: 30 days, 30 poems, 0 questions. I’m sure that sums it up for those who have no idea what they’ve walked into, as well, so I’ve got all the bases covered by now. Hopefully over the month I can inspire more than one of you to write a poem! Prompts will fly, words will sing with the joy of ballads long past…such enthusiasm!

The poem above, albeit rather depressing and melancholy, was inspired by a rather interesting prompt: simply find a poem in another language that you can find some way of pronouncing and use the phonetics to inspire words. The way I did it was I wrote down whatever English word was closest in sound to the foreign word I was saying. Then, since I can already speak Spanish (I was doing a poem from this Spanish Poems website), my mind threw in a few translations here and there, such as “dying” for “muriera”. That was the first two lines, hence their rather abstract thread; after that, I completely gave up the phonetic translating, as it was too hard for my brain (already trying to read the Spanish), and went right out to write the poem. But those first two lines created a mood that dragged me off and yanked out these words in a pattern which I still don’t know the origin of. To think I was actually feeling cheerful when I wrote it! I actually thought, “Wow, this is really depressing. Where did that come from?” as I wrote away. The result is that one-page poem, short for me, so vague yet inspiring a powerful mood. Fun and productive at the same time!

The prompt for the day is that which I used to write the poem above: find a foreign, untranslated poem and read the phonetics, “translating” it to whatever English words you’re reminded of. If you can’t figure out for the life of you how to pronounce the language, find someone who can, or you can use Google Translate–it might not be able to translate well, but it can pronounce words fairly well! If you’re more of an Apple person, throw the poem to Siri. Use as many lines as you need to get started–whether it’s one or the whole poem.

 Happy writing!

-Aidyl

What do you think?

