National Poetry and Writing Month: Days 7, 8, and 9

Today’s poems: “My Second Sonnet”, “Reptilian Push-ups”, and “Eager to Eat.” Sorry for the missed days! ūüė¶ I simply didn’t have access to a computer, but here are the poems to make up for it!

The past three days have¬†not been fun, especially since I was ill, but now I’m back (not in black) to give you your poems. I give you…my work of observance in the past three hours!

First up to bat is the sonnet. This is my second actual completion of a sonnet. I archived it here, if you want to check it out. It was silly and had barely any context between the lines at all! This one, however, actually has a theme throughout the poem. Here it is, my second attempt at this pentameter!

My Second Sonnet

The day begins all cool and oh-so-bright,

the temperature now rising like a kite.

The breeze then starts up with the ocean’s might,

which cools things down, a little, very slight.

The birds now start to sing their cheery songs,

sounds fitting in exactly where they belong.

From trains to birds to bubbling sounds of ponds,

Sounds fill the air; and the church-bells, just like gongs.

The sun moves on, and now it’s time for lunch,

Yum, lettuce gives this tuna quite a crunch!

I love grapes, too; why don’t I go buy a bunch?

Oh, beware of buying way to much to munch!

Now I need to practice my piano,

as things grow dark I play songs ritarando.

The clouds that now I see have an orange glow,

and now most things are draped in dark shadow.

The stars are out now, high up in the skies,

Goodbye for now; I must now close my eyes.

For those who don’t play piano as a hobby,¬†ritarando, which is Italian, is a way of playing music. It means ‘to play very, very slowly’. Think of the word “retarded” here. And so, okay, I didn’t exactly do the A/B/A/B etc. rhyming, but that’s because I forgot to when I was caught up in the beauty of the poem. “Oh, it’s not a sonnet, then.” You might say, “It’s got to have that strict meter.” Blah blah blah…Sorry, no offence intended if you really thought that. Call it what you will, but I’m listing it as a sonnet.

Next to give its report is this poem, about the lizard. I seem to like to do this a lot with lizards that I find basking around my house; I think it’s an influence from my childhood catching and fascination with lizards.

 Reptilian Push-Ups

There’s a lizard on the wall,

at least four inches long!

(eight, if you want to count the tail, too)

His beady black stare,

and majestic overview

instill awe his beholders;

those that are lizards, at least!

I move a foot closer,

but his head snaps towards me,

the glint of his eyes

watching so suspiciously!

I blob faintly up and down before him,

(which is a display of strength,

a challenge)

while he watches, unimpressed.

I add my arms to the mix,

(mimicking a lizard’s strong push-up)

and await his response…

There! he stirs!

Behold! how far he raises above the ground!

As any feeble lizard would,

to admit defeat in his presence,

(and to keep him brave in his territory, as well)

his eye alone shows pride in his defeat.

I flee!

Lizards, at least the ones which always lived around my house, actually do push-ups as a challenge. The challenger begins, coming into sight of the challenged, and eagerly pumping his arms to raise himself. If the challenged lizard is bigger, he often raises himself high above the height¬†achieved¬†by the other, which flees to admit defeat. Therefore, I’ve found it interesting to¬†mimic¬†that¬†behavior¬†towards other lizards. Who knows why?

My final poem is pretty short, and it’s about my¬†bird-feeder. Here you are:

Eager to Eat

The warm ocean breeze

adjusts the position of the mesh bird feeder,

while minute Lesser Goldfinches

cling to it closely,

mewing their calls into the air,

and competing for space near the small amount of remaining food.

Those tiny goldfinches are always swinging mewing and calling each other. They’re just sooooooooooo adorable! The poor things enjoy the thistle seed so much that sometimes they hang upside-down on the bottom of the sock to have space!

Although I’ve covered multiple days, I’m only going to give you one¬†challenge. After all, for what I have in mind as the grand finale of National Poetry and Writing Month, you can’t have¬†that many challenges! (I smile¬†mischievously) Look around you. Find a bird, or a lizard, or some sort of little animal. Watch what it does, and write a poem about it, starting with “I…” or “I see a…” and thus describing the habits of the animal, whether it simply perches in your tree for a few moments, tries to catch a bug, or just runs away from you. Trust me, even the smallest event can become a long poem.

Hope you had a happy Easter, and enjoy NPWM day 9!

–Aidyl

What do you think?

