N.P.W.M. Days 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17: A Long, Long Poem!

Yes, I did miss six days. This is because I am writing one large poem with the value of six days.

Okay, let’s see if I can do it, depicting a day…

Summer Day

Just as I awake,

cool fog and cool fog horns,

crying the musical tone G.

Fog lifts slowly,

and reveals a warm mid-morning

as a curtain reveals a stage

upon which anything can happen.

Slightly windy,

just a cool ocean breeze,

calling me there.

Leaping upon my bike,

I ride down to the beach.

And play volleyball,

skip stones,

and barbecue.

Laughs and shouts,

cries and screams,

as surfboards, bodyboards, and swimmers converge.

Sun’s high,

watching the water.

Low tide,

low waves.

soft music and new friends,

snack bar and sand bar.

Sand dollar for a real dollar,

live crab for a pinch.

Seven Up, Pepsi, Coke,

Lemonade, Root Beer, Soda.

Sand castles that house

Sand crabs in their walls,

as the water slowly erodes it.

The sun sets slowly,

tinting the sky a gorgeous color.

Swimmers huddle by the fire,

wrapped in towels.

Dark comes, and with it

the marine layer, the fog,

drapes over the land again,

so the actors can clear the stage and

prepare for the next scene.

I just love summer days like that, although hot weather has never been my favorite. I like warm weather, and I will withstand cold weather, but I hate hot weather unless I have a pool or a beach to escape into, or even air conditioning.

What kind of summer weather do you like? What do you like to do on summer days? Sit outside and roast? Have a water party? Go to the beach or community pool? Drive somewhere so that you can use your car’s air conditioning? Eat pounds of ice cream until you get brain freeze? Take a vacation to Greenland?

Or you can hate summer weather and go to Australia right now, and come back in six months. Good luck with that.

~Aidyl

One thought on “N.P.W.M. Days 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17: A Long, Long Poem!

What do you think?

