Lemons Spark Batteries…But Stories?

Earlier this afternoon, I was making lemonade, and I said, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade” over and over. Suddenly, I had the bright spark for a scenario that I could put on my blog.

So this guy went into a grocery store, and looked around. He picked a dozen lemons, and walked out. One of the cashiers called the police, and they began to track the man.

The theif drove into a neighborhood, and picked a random house. He scribbled a note on a piece of paper, and put taped it to the bag of lemons before setting it on the doorstep. He rang the doorbell, and jumped into his car to drive away.

Thirty seconds later, the owner of the house (let’s say his name is Hugh) came to the door, and looked at the note. He shrugged, and went inside with the anonymousness . With the lemons he decided to make lemonade. About ten minutes later, he was sitting on his porch sipping the zesty drink when the police pulled up.

Now, the police didn’t have a clear description of the thief, so, they naturally jumped to conclusions.

“Where did you get those lemons?” the officer asked.

“I found them on my step,” grinned Hugh, “Hey, when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade!”

The few descriptions that the police had matched Hugh exactly. “Sir,” the officer said, “You’re under arrest. You just stole those lemons from Zip’n’ Groceries in town.”

“I found them on the doorstep!” protested Hugh, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”

“You’d better make lemonade with the lemons we’re handing you! You can’t deny that you stole those lemons!”

“Yes he can,” said a new person. Both Hugh and the officer turned. The new person happened to be the man who had stolen the lemons from the Zip’n’ Groceries just fifteen minutes ago.

“Who are you? How do you know?” demanded the officer.

“My name’s Leighf,” answered the man, “I gave him the lemons.”

***

Well? Is it such a stupid story? Do you get the pun? (incidentally, the pun is that the man’s name is Leighf, which is pronounced LIE ff, and that the phrase is,”when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”.) Let me know. Sure, it’s not my best writing, but it’s funny!

Oh yeah, and I came up with yet another story idea. Like all the others, I intend for this to be published, but in case it won’t I won’t tell you much about it except that I have a stunning and enticing teaser!

~Aidyl

What do you think?

